Living Kawaii…(Part 1)

“Kawaii” (kah-wah-ee) is a Japanese term that can be loosely translated to “cute” or “adorable”.  As a child, I was such a big fan of characters like Hello Kitty, My Little Twin Stars, Kero Keroppi, and the likes, that my sister and I would “trade” stickers, stationery and other trinkets that we’ve collected using our “lunch” money.   When Hubby, Sister Bear and I finally got to visit Japan a few years back, it was so surprising and refreshing to see how this lifestyle was present almost everywhere in Japan!  It wouldn’t be uncommon to see a large cartoon-like character in the middle of a sidewalk even in the business district.

GradJapan_109-1[1]

So, when given a chance to create (a.k.a play around with) similarly adorable characters, I was definitely excited to get started! 🙂  Japanese character based pop culture has spread world-wide and has become popular even here in the US.  Can you guess what characters these were based from?

pixlr_20160223145533727(1)[1]

Anyways, there are more characters to come and I’m very excited to share the final product with you…so if you like Kawaii…or for those that LIVE a Kawaii lifestyle…stay tuned!

And in case you’re wondering, of course they are going to be edible and used on something baked! I mean what better way to enjoy them, right? 🙂

Til next time…

~CW

 

2 thoughts on “Living Kawaii…(Part 1)

  1. Aww… these look awesome already! They look just like the shopkins and I know my daughter is going to love them;) I can’t wait to see the final touch on them. Thank you Christina for always making my families birthday’s so special.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

