Rainy Day Stew

It’s been raining for three days straight since Friday and Hubby had a craving for some beef stew.  Unfortunately, our nearby restaurant is closed so I decided…hmmm…I should make it…I mean why not?  Sure I’m a baker not a cook but, it’s all the same right?… Or at least I hope so 😏  I think it all comes down to good ingredients and a simple recipe that even I can follow 😝 so I let Google help me on this one and I found a recipe on allrecipes.com that seemed basic enough. I read through it and thought….ok I can do this 👍

20160313_171346_HDR.jpg

So I cut up some chuck roast beef into bite size chunks and seasoned generously with Mrs. Dash.  In a bowl, I added some flour and some garlic powder which I used to coat my beef cubes thinly.

I heated some olive oil in a pan and added my beef cubes allowing it to brown on each side.  Once browned, I transferred it into my slow cooker and added a small can of tomato sauce and about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce.

In the same heated pan, I sauteed 3-4 gloves of garlic and removed them from the pan once they turned golden brown and slightly cooked. I added about a cup of water to the pan, let it simmer to capture all the flavor, and poured it into my crock-pot.

20160313_173339_HDR.jpg

Now for the veggies…I used some baby carrots, chopped celery, onions, petite potatoes and mushrooms. Combined them together with some garlic and added everything to my crock-pot.

For seasoning, I added about 2 sprigs of rosemary, bay leaves, paprika, salt and pepper.  I stirred the pot until everything was incorporated, closed the lid and crossed my fingers….after 8 hours in the slow cooker….voila!

20160314_205740_HDR(2).jpg

 

I baked some garlic bread to complete the meal and all I can say was that it was hearty and definitely hit the spot 😋

Til next adventure…
~CW

Related link:

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/14685/slow-cooker-beef-stew-i/

 

 

Leave a Reply

